Archive for March 5th, 2007


Jay-Z, Aretha Franklin & Zach De La Rocha To Honor Rock And Roll Inductees

by admin ·

This year’s Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame ceremony will see an interesting mix of rap and R&B heavyweights unite to honor music’s legends.

Jay-Z will induct Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five in a ceremony many say is long overdue for the turntablist pioneer who is credited with inventing the technique known as the scratch.

60s pop/R&B legends the Ronettes will also receive an award during the event that will witness Rage Against The Machine vocalist Zach de la Rocha induct seminal rock artist Patti Smith.

In addition, Aretha Franklin is scheduled to perform in honor of friend and longtime colleague Ahmet Ertegün, who served as the Chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation and opened each year’s ceremony. Ertegün, also one of the founders of Atlantic Records, passed away in 2006, and gave many artists such as Franklin, Ray Charles and the late Ruth Brown their start at the label.

The March 12 ceremony will take place in New York, and will be aired on VH1 Classic live.